EITI gets New International Board, former Swedish PM as Chair

Posted on February 25, 2016 · Posted in Governance

Mr Moses Kulaba, Excutive Secretary, Governance and Economic Policy Centre, at a Pre G8 Summit Debate on Taxation, Trade and Development event, Hosted by the British Prime, David Cameroun, Lancaster House, London , 2013

Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (EITI) general convening in Lima on 23rd February, 2016 elected a new governance board of directors comprising of distinguished and high standing members drawn from the EITI implementing Countries, Supporting Countries, companies and Civil Society, with the former Swedish Prime Minister, Mr Fredrik Reinfeldt as new Chair.  The new board members include Mr Moses Kulaba, the Executive Director of the Governance and Economic Policy centre.

The election of Mr Kulaba was largely applauded by governments, companies and Civil Society at the meeting as a major breakthrough for the East African region, which had never held a position on the EITI board, since its inception many years ago. Mr Nathaniel Kaaya, Tanzania’s Acting Ambassador to Brazil and South America, who attended the event on behalf of Tanzania’s President, Dr John Magufuli, said it was great honor for East African region.

With major discoveries of vast deposits or potential deposits of extractive resources like Minerals, Oil and Natural gas and many ongoing or planned projects, Africa and East Africa in particular is seen as the new frontier of extractive industries, and the presence of Mr Kulaba on the board was widely seen as a major link between the region and the EITI global body. The names of the new board of directors are:

No Name    of Director Name of Alternate Director
Ms Olga Bierkova, Member of Parliament, Ukraine Mr Nurabaev Bazarbai Kanaevich, Ministry of Investment & Development, Kazakhstan
2 Mr Montty Girianna, President EITI National Committee, Indonesia Mr Enkhbaya Nemekhbayar, Ministry of Mining, Mongolia
3 Ms Zainab Ahmed, Federal Ministry  of Budget & National Planning, Nigeria Mr Jose’ Fernandes Rosa Cardoso, National Cordinator, Sao Tome et Principe’
4 Mr Didier Vicent Kokou Agbemadon, EITI National Cordinator, Togo Mr Ismaila Madior Fall, Legal Adviser to the President of Senegal and Chair EITI Senegal
5 Mr Jeremy Mack Dumba, National Cordinator, Democratic Republic of Congo Mr Agnes Solange Ondigui Owona, EITI National Cordinator, Cameroun.
6 Mr Victor Hart , Chair TTEIT, Trindad and Tobago Ms Maria Isabel Ulloa, Vice Minister of Mines, Colombia
7 Ms Mary Warlick, Principal Deputy Assistant, Secretary of State, Bureau of Energy Resources, State Department, USA Mr Mark Pearson, Director General External Relations, Science and Policy Integration, Natural Resources Canada, Canada
8 Mr Nico Van Dijck, Advisor, Office of Economic, Interests, Directorate General for Bilateral Affairs, Belgium Ms Catarina Hedlund, Department for International trade Policy, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Sweden
9 Ms Marine de Carne De Trecesson, Ambassador Corporate Social Responsibility, Ministry of Foreign Affairs , France Ms Kerstin Faehrmann, Head of Division, Energy, Infrastructure, Raw Materials, Federal Republic, Ministry of Economic Affairs (BMZ), Germany
10        Mr Daniel Kaufman, President Natural Resources Goverance Institute (NRGI) Ms Wendy Tyrell, Transparency International, Australia
11 Mr Gubad Ibadoglu,  Economic Research Centre, Azerbaijan Ms Oleksyi Orlovsky, International Rennaisance Foundation, Ukraine
12 Ms Faith Nwadish, Executive Director,  Immalah Foundation, Nigeria Mr Brice Mackosso, Commission Justice et Paix, Republic of Congo
13 Ms Carolin Espinoza Gonzalez, Universidad, Externado de Colombia, Colombia Mr Ceasar Gamboa, Derecho, Ambiente Y Recurso Naturales, Peru
14 Ms Cielo Magno, Bantay Kita, Philippines Mr Moses Kulaba, Governance and Economic Policy Centre, Tanzania (East Africa)
15 Ms Carine Smith Ihenacho, Vice President Legal, Statoil Mr Guillermo Garcia, Head Revenue Transparency, ExxonMobil
16 Mr Jim Miller, Vice President, Environmental Affairs, Freeport Mcmoran, Copper & Gold Inc Mr Ian Wood, VP Sustainable Development, BHP Billiton
17 Ms Laurel Green, Group Executive, Legal & External Affairs, Rio Tinto Mr Alan Knight, General Manager, Social Responsibility, Arcelor Mittal
18        Mr Mclean, Executive Vice President, Tax & Corporate Structure, Royal Dutch Shell Mr Carlos Aranda, Manager Technical Services, Southern Peru, Copper Corporation, Peru
19                            Ms Sasja Beslik, Head of Responsible Investments, Nordea Asset Management Mr Jonas Moberg, Head EITI Secretariat, Oslo (Secretary to the Board)

Source: EITI website: https://eiti.org/files/document/eiti_board_members_2016-2019_as_feb_2016.pdf

Mr Fredrik Reinfeldt, former Prime Minister of Sweden (2008-2014), was elected as new Chair of the EITI to replace former British Prime Minister,  Ms Clair Short, whose tenure of office ended after a long tenure of service as Chair.

The Civil Society Coordinated by Publish What You Pay (PWYP) global coalition however protested the manner in which the process and the manner in which the general assembly was conducted, including attempts to what was seen by the PWYP Coalition as a deliberate attempt by the Secretariat to interfere with the voice of Civil Society in the EITI process by attempting to impose another candidate, who was nominated outside the historically known procedures, for election onto the board. The nomination and the candidate was later withdrawn.

The CSOs interpreted this as violation of the EITI standards which required that the nomination process of EITI Board members is guided by high levels of integrity and members serving the board should be individuals of high standing integrity and destined to serve the values of EITI. The CSOs also criticised the out going EITI Chairperson,  Ms Clair Short,  for dismissing their protest and allowing the general assembly to endorse a new board and chair without the presence of a large majority of Civil society in attendance.

After, tough negotiations, PWYP accepted to endorse the new board and chair but a caveat that they (CSOs) would be making recommendations for improvement of the governance process within the EITI. The detailed statement issued by the Civil Society is carried in detail in a different posting on this site.

The Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (EITI) is a global Standard to promote open and accountable management of natural resources.  It seeks to strengthen government and company systems, inform public debate, and enhance trust.  In each implementing country it is supported by a coalition of governments, companies and civil society working together

The EITI is implemented in 51 Countries, with the Dominican Republic and German having become members during the General Assembly in Lima, Peru on 23rd Feburary, 2016